Question of the Day

QotD: En Route

What is your daily commute like?  What is the weirdest thing you’ve seen on that commute?
Submitted by E.

My daily communte is only about 15 miles, with traffic it takes about 35 minutes to get there. Now that the second phase of I-540 is complete, the commute is just highway… from one interstate, exit onto the bypass, merge onto to the inner beltline which merges onto another interstate and exit… three stoplights later I’m there.

At the last exit, sometimes there has been a guy standing there with a sign that says he’s hungry.  One day, I was at the front of the line right next to him.  I happened to be bringing a banana with me to work, so I rolled down the window and tried to hand it to him.  The guy laughed and said he wasn’t that hungry.  WTF?  I would think that if I were really hungry and someone offered me a banana I would take it and probably say thank you.  It makes me wonder if he’s really hungry or just trying to get money.  I donate to known charities like United Way and volunteer occasionally, but I hesitate to give money to random people on the street.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

One thought on “QotD: En Route

  1. I donate to known charities like United Way and volunteer occasionally, but I hesitate to give money to random people on the street.
    That's wise. Some of those guys make more money panhandling than you do working.

Leave a Reply

