Good Eats!

Rock-a-hula Baby!

My niece’s birthday was this weekend and she asked to have a luau, complete with grass skirts and limbo.  All the little girls had on their bikinis and flowers in their hair.

The kids made their own kabobs for grilling and mom & I tried to make coconut shrimp.  It was very tedious and pretty messy, but turned out okay.

Coconut-Shrimp

My niece and I made her cake together… yes, more coconut.  It was really good!  One of the few cakes where I will actually eat the icing.

Old Fashioned Coconut Cake (I used Malibu coconut rum  instead of the dark rum)

Although most of the kids had fun trying to limbo,  some of them were little pros.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

All together I think everyone had a great time.  A few things I learned after spending the day with family, tons of kids and mom’s neighbors…

A little rum goes a long way and apparently a lot of crazy people come from Florida…  :)

Leave a Reply

