Plinky

The Weirdest Thing I’ve Ever Eaten

On vacation last year, I tried alligator (it really does taste like chicken, just kinda chewy). I occasionally eat octopus salad and eel when we go out for sushi. Bison burgers are much better than hamburger. And calamari is a must when eating out at an Italian restaurant. Since my family is German, Spätzle is normal, but it can look like brains…

One day I came home to a weird smell. In the kitchen I found a packet in some boiling water. I turned asked my old roommate why he was boiling paper and string!?! He laughed and explained that it wasn’t paper & string, it was a traditional Puerto Rican dish called “Pasteles“. I tried it; it wasn’t my cup of tea but it was a real treat for him.

What’s weird to one person is completely normal to another.

I used to be very picky about the foods I would eat. As I’ve gotten older I’ve become more willing to try new things… Lebanese, sushi and Thai, oh my! By having an open mind, I’ve learned to enjoy the experience of trying new foods.

There are still several foods that I’ve tried and just don’t like, but I continue to try them prepared different ways – your taste buds can change, you know? Even after my husband had me try raw oysters on a half shell (which I didn’t like), every time we go to an oyster bar, I try one of his just in case one day my tastes change. Take sweet potatoes for example, I used to actually gag when trying to eat them – raw, cooked, fried, candied – it didn’t matter. One day I found a recipe with mashed sweet potatoes as a side dish and I decided to give it a try. Before that, my hubby hated sweet potatoes too, but now we actually eat them all the time.

Don’t turn up your nose until you know for sure you don’t like it and continue to try it again sometime, otherwise you’ll never know what you are missing. My goal now is to find recipes for new, healthy foods to make at home.

Powered by Plinky

Leave a Reply

