Plinky

Growing Up in a Small Town

I was born in Fayetteville, NC. A military city with an army base & an air force base. When I was about 11, my parents bought a house out in country. Let me tell you it was a little bit of a culture shock. I was in the seventh grade, in junior high. I was used to having a locker and changing classes. When I started at my new *middle* school, boy was I was in for a surprise! First of all the school was 4-8th grade. We didn’t have lockers, we still had “cubbies” (!?!) and when you changed classes, your entire class went with you to another teacher’s room. It was definitely different.  And, this was like 1990 and we didn’t have house numbers or street names either! We were “the first house on the left off of route 1779″… Plus, we had to drive at least 45 minutes just to find a freakin’ Taco Bell!

Well, needless to say, I eventually got used to it… the 30 minute drive to the high school, getting stuck behind a tractor and the smell of chicken farms… ugh! So, after I got older and got engaged and my betrothed wanted to move to the big city of Raleigh, I was all for it. I love Raleigh because everything is close by and there is plenty to do. When we bought our house, all I wanted was to be in a neighborhood with a sidewalk.

Here we are 8 years later and wouldn’t you know that I’m hoping our next move will be further out of the city. Maybe it’s because I’m getting older or because I’m ready to start a family, who knows? We occasionally will go back to that little country town and I don’t really miss it, especially when we get stuck behind a truck filled with chickens! I guess I want to be somewhere in the middle, still a short distance from the restaurants and activities, but far enough out so that our neighbors are a good distance away :-)

Powered by Plinky

Leave a Reply

