Plinky

A Wild Animal Encounter

Water Buffalo

Plinky asked me to share a story about an encounter with a wild animal. Oh, there are so many to choose from – not! I don't really spend a lot of time out in the wild. I happen to like my little safe & secure corner of the world. However, there is one particular incident that comes to mind…

Several years ago my friend and I spent a lot of time following a local band from show to show. We were friends with the band members so we were "with the band" – I can prove it, my friend had the T-shirt. :-) Now, we weren't groupies because we were not, nor had we ever slept with any of the guys in the band. We just really had a good time going to the shows.

Anyway, this particular night we had a pretty long drive home and we were tired. I was driving and it had started raining; I was having some trouble seeing and ALL OF A SUDDEN… a very large four legged creature darted across the road and it scared the daylights out of me! I had to swerve to miss it! Now, this was a massive animal of some sort but my friend somehow didn't really see it. What?!? How could you not see that huge THING running across the road right in front of the car?

Needless to say, I was a little freaked out and she was like "what was it?" Don't ask me why, but the first thing that popped in my head was that it was a buffalo. Yes, you read that right. I said b-u-f-f-a-l-o. I know what you are thinking, and no, I had not been drinking. All I know is that it was huge and I just knew if I had hit it we would have been crushed. My friend busted out laughing. I knew the chances it was in fact a buffalo was pretty slim and since I have never seen a real live buffalo I couldn't be sure. Of course, it wasn't a buffalo! I had no idea why that came out, but it's kept us laughing for years.

A few days ago something jumped out in the road when my husband was driving. I wasn't paying attention because I was messing around with my iphone so I asked him what was and he simply replied "buffalo". Here we are more than 10 years later, and it still cracks me up.

Powered by Plinky

One thought on “A Wild Animal Encounter

Leave a Reply

