Good Eats!

Springtime Pasta Primavera

This is a quick and easy pasta that’s best with fresh veggies.   I didn’t plan this one very well because I didn’t have some of the ingredients so I changed it up a little.  I skipped the asparagus and added a red pepper, chopped.  I didn’t have the half-n-half, so instead I melted in a little cream cheese.  My husband also asked me to use rotini pasta instead of farfalle.  This was pretty good, but I’m not a fan of green beans, so next time I will leave those out.

INGREDIENTS

  • 12 ounces farfalle pasta
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup haricots verts (thin tender green beans), ends trimmed
  • 1/2 cup thin asparagus tips and stalks, sliced in 1-inch pieces
  • 1/2 cup fresh peas
  • 1/2 cup white mushrooms, thinly sliced
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 cup half-and-half
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 4 seeded and diced ripe plum tomatoes
  • 2 tablespoons snipped fresh chives

PREPARATION

In a large pot of boiling salted water, cook the pasta until just tender, about 12 minutes. Drain and set aside.

Melt the butter in a large pot over medium-low heat and quickly sauté the vegetables until just tender. Do not over cook. Season well with salt and pepper. Add the half-and-half and cook to thicken the sauce, 5 minutes. Season well with pepper. Toss in the drained pasta and sprinkle with Parmesan. Garnish with diced tomatoes and chives or pea shoots, if available. Serve immediately.

Source:  Epicurious.com

Leave a Reply

