Good Eats!

Spinach & Roasted Red Pepper Stromboli

I decided to try my first stromboli.  Let me start off by saying, I don’t even own a rolling pin!  Regardless, I think my first attempt wasn’t so bad.  Since I don’t have a food processor, I used sun-dried tomato spread and sliced black olives.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 lb pizza dough
  • 8-10 sun-dried tomato halves, packed in oil
  • 1/2 cup pitted olives
  • 10 oz frozen spinach
  • 12 oz jar roasted red peppers
  • 12-15 slices of provolone
  • mozzarella
  • flour

PREPARATION:

Roll out the pizza dough on a lightly floured flat surface.  Cover the dough with the sun-dried spread, leaving a 1 inch border around the edges.  Cover with slices of provolone.  Top with spinach (thawed and squeezed dry) and roasted red peppers (drained, patted dry  & sliced into strips).  Sprinkle with shredded mozzarella.  Fold in the edges and roll tightly.  Transfer the rolled dough to a baking sheet covered with foil, seam side down.  Brush the dough with a beaten egg and bake for about 30 minutes or until golden brown.

Source:  Pip & Ebby

Leave a Reply

