Good Eats!

Mini Meatloaf Cups

My friend Lindsey has mentioned before that she makes mini meatloafs in a muffin pan.  I don’t remember what the ingredients were I just remember that she said it was very easy to do.  Well, the other day I was wasting time perusing Pinterest and I came across a recipe for Skinny Meatloaf Cupcakes with Mashed Potato Frosting.  They looked so cute that I decided I would try it out.  I adapted the recipe slightly.  They turned out…okay. 

Image

It was pretty easy to make, but in the end my hubby said “they’re cute, but I like your regular turkey meatloaf better”.  Ultimately, I probably will stick to my normal meatloaf, but I think it’s a great idea maybe to get your kids to eat it!

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 1/2lb ground turkey
  • 1lb potatoes, peeled & diced
  • 1 zucchini, peeled & shredded
  • 1/2 cup breadcrumbs
  • 1/4 cup ketchup
  • 1 egg
  • 3-4 tbsp light plain Greek yogurt (substitute for sour cream)
  • 2 tbsp onion
  • 2-3 garlic cloves
  • 2 tbsp chicken broth
  • 2 tbsp skim milk
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1 tbsp thyme
  • green onions/chives
  • salt
  • pepper

PREPARATION

Boil the potatoes with the garlic.  Reduce the heat, cover & simmer for about 20 minutes or until the potatoes are tender.  Preheat the over to about 350° and set up your muffin pan with foil cupcake liners.  In a large bowl, mix the turkey, zucchini, breadcrumbs, ketchup, onion, egg and salt.  Spoon the meatloaf mixture into the the muffin pan – keep the tops flat.  Bake uncovered for about 20 minutes or until cooked through.  Drain the potatoes and return to the pan.  Add the yogurt, milk, butter, thyme and chicken broth to the potatoes.  Mash until smooth and season with salt & pepper.  Spoon the mashed potatoes into ziplock baggies.  Snip the tip of a bottom corner of the bag off with scissors – make sure the hole isn’t too big, about the diameter of a pencil or pen.  Squeeze the potatoes through the bag to decorate the meatloaf cups.  Sprinkle with chives and serve.

Image

Source:  Adapted from Skinny Taste

One thought on “Mini Meatloaf Cups

Leave a Reply

