Good Eats!

Warm Quinoa Shrimp Salad

Want a quick easy and healthy dinner?  Try this one!  I was a little bit skeptical because the ingredients didn’t seem to go together but I took a chance.  I did make a few adjustments.  The first time I made it I didn’t have sun-dried tomatoes so I used some sun-dried tomato spread that I usually put on greek-style naan pizzas.  I also skipped the asparagus and it turned out wonderful.  It was so good that it was all gone before I even thought about getting a picture.  The second time I had the sun-dried tomatoes but I forgot we ate all the cashews.  I took a quick pic of the second attempt which doesn’t look as good as it was the first time around.  Just trust me, this recipe is much better than my photography skills – or lack thereof.

INGREDIENTSphoto(14)

  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1/2 medium red onion, finely chopped
  • 1/2 cup sun-dried tomatoes, not reconstituted, julienned
  • 1/2 cup vegetable broth or water
  • 1/2 cup white wine
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon grated lemon zest
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1/2 cup uncooked quinoa, rinsed
  • 1/2 pound medium shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 1/2 pound asparagus, trimmed and cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 1/4 cup fresh or frozen green peas
  • 1/2 cup roasted cashew pieces
  • 6 green onions, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped parsley

PREPARATION:

In a medium pot, heat oil over medium heat. Add garlic and onions and cook for 3 minutes. Add sun-dried tomatoes and continue to cook for 1 more minute. Add broth, wine, lemon juice, lemon zest, salt and pepper and bring to a boil. Stir in quinoa and simmer on low heat, covered, for about 20 minutes, or until quinoa is almost tender.

Arrange shrimp on top of quinoa in pot and simmer for 3 minutes. Add asparagus and peas on top of the shrimp and simmer for 3 more minutes. Top with cashews, green onions and parsley and season with salt and pepper.

Source:  Whole Foods

One thought on “Warm Quinoa Shrimp Salad

Leave a Reply

