Good Eats!

Philly Cheesesteak Stuffed Peppers

My husband is a pepper fanatic.  He wants to eat peppers all the time.  Although I’m not a big fan of traditional stuffed peppers, I have tried other versions of stuffed peppers like this.  Since we like philly cheesesteak, I decided to give this one a go.  First, make sure you get a good cut of steak.  I actually just recently started eating steak so I’m not familiar with what’s what.I don’t remember exactly what I picked up, just grabbed something thin, but it was little chewier than I would’ve liked.  The original recipe says to marinate the stead for at least six hours – well I didn’t plan far enough in advance so ours only marinated for about an hour or so.  I like a lot of gooey cheese on my cheesesteak so in addition to the slices on top, I also stuffed a little bit of cheese inside the peppers – you want ooey-gooeyness in every bite, right?  Well, I don’t know if it was my oven or what, but it didn’t turn out very ooey-gooey for me.   The cheese browned on top but wasn’t melted enough inside.  I wonder if mozzarella or swiss would be better.IMG_0543..
Ingredients:
  • 1 lb thinly sliced steak
  • 1 thinly sliced onion
  • 4 bell peppers
  • 4 provolone cheese slices
  • balsamic vinegar
  • extra virgin olive oil

Preparation:

Marinate the strips of steak in the balsamic vinegar.  Pour the olive oil in a pan, add the onions and steak.  Cook over medium-high heat for about 7 minutes until the steak is only slightly pink.  While the steak is cooking, slice the tops off the peppers and scrape out the insides.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Fill the hollowed out peppers with the steak and onions.  Place a piece of cheese over the top of each pepper.  Bake in oven for 15-20 minutes.

Adapted from:  Almost Supermom

Leave a Reply

