Good Eats!

Pumpkin Cream Pie

It’s that time of year when all the white girls want pumpkin everything!  Now, I like pumpkin but I’m not all crazy about it.  Even when Starbucks brings out the pumpkin lattes I still stick with my normal Chai tea latte or spiced apple cider.  I’m crazier about spiced apple cider than pumpkin – especially when it’s spiked with some spiced rum… ok, sorry back to the pie.  So, it’s fall and National Dessert Day, I just had to whip up this super duper easy dessert.  To make it even easier, rather than make my own crust I just bought one – I actually like the shortbread crust better than graham cracker anyway.  Oh, and I didn’t have any pumpkin pie spice so I just used cinnamon and nutmeg.  Done!

Filling:

  • 6 oz cream cheese, softened
  • 1 15oz can pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups whipped topping

Preparation:

Beat cream cheese and pumpkin puree in a medium bowl until smooth.  Add sugars, pumpkin pie spice and salt.  Beat until combined.  Gently fold in whipped topping.  Spread into crust.  Refrigerate overnight or until firm.  Spread extra whipped topping over top of firm pie and serve.

Leave a comment